RSS

I Don’t Like It But I Need It

02 Jun

Greetings my friends in the name of the Lord.

I have re-read a little book another time.  It’s less than a hundred pages and certainly an “easy read” in terms of size and layout. But, I don’t like this book. Yet I have read it multiple times and I need to read it again.  Why, you ask, if I don’t like it, do I read it not just once, but several times?  Well, I don’t like it because I don’t like the personal convictions I receive from the book.  I don’t want to do the things the book instructs.  I don’t want to follow the principles that the book sets forth.  But just because I don’t like them, that does not mean that I should not follow them.  You see, the book talks about financial commitments, tithing and giving back to God.  My worldview tells me I don’t like this book.  The Holy Spirit tells me I need this book. My sinful nature tells me what mine is mine.  What God tells me is that everything belongs to Him. This book reminds me of my weakness and sin.

Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.  So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me.  For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death?  Thanks be to God–through Jesus Christ our Lord!   (Romans 7:20-25)

The book is The Treasure Principle. Randy Alcorn puts forward six Treasure Principle Keys that as I read them I know in my heart they are how I need to approach my tithing and gifting but in my rebellion I do what I do not want to do. Randy systematically destroys all the excuses I have used for not being a good steward of what God has given to me. They are hard lessons for me but with God’s help, I am trying to adjust my life to apply them.  What I have learned (or am still learning) from Randy are valuable truths that war within my mind with the hope that Christ will lead me to full compliance. I am discovering truths like: God owns everything; My heart is where I put my money; Earth is not my real home; My things are only temporary; You can’t take it with you, but you can send it on ahead.  These are just of few of the many insights Randy teaches and I am trying to put into practice…to do good.

The book I have is a special edition of Randy Alcorn’s The Treasure Principle.  The subtitle reads, “Discovering the Secret of Joyful Giving.”  This particular version is from the Man in the Mirror ministry in partnership with Generous Giving and The National Christian Foundation.  All of these organizations are excellent kingdom building servants and their combined efforts to promote responsible financial support of kingdom work is outstanding.  This special edition book is one of those efforts.

I urge you to find a copy of this little book, or perhaps the full version, and read it for yourself. Like it or hate it, you may discover you need it!

Blessings,
Dan

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “I Don’t Like It But I Need It

  1. mark wheeler

    June 21, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    A good word my friend. Mark

     

Leave a Reply

 
